Skip to main content
RUOK

Japan Deep Learning Association (JDLA)

Deep Learning for GENERAL: JDLA Certificate Examination (G-Certificate)

The G-Certificate, formally the Deep Learning for GENERAL: JDLA Certificate Examination, is run by the Japan Deep Learning Association (JDLA) and tests literacy in putting AI and deep learning to use. There are no eligibility requirements. It is offered in two formats, online from home and at a test centre, and both lead to the same certificate. Either way the paper is about 145 multiple-choice knowledge questions; the time limit is 100 minutes online and 120 minutes at a test centre. The syllabus has a technical half, covering machine learning, the building blocks and applications of deep learning, putting AI into practice, and the mathematics and statistics behind it, and a law-and-ethics half, covering the Act on the Protection of Personal Information, the Copyright Act, AI development outsourcing contracts, AI governance and related topics. In 2026 the online exam runs six times a year and the test-centre exam three times a year.

Official page

Who takes it

  • People on the business side who plan and drive AI projects
  • Managers and legal staff involved in deciding whether to adopt AI and in contracting the work out
  • People in digital transformation roles who are not engineers but want to understand the vocabulary and the limits of machine learning
  • Students aiming for AI-related roles (a student price of JPY 5,500 is offered)
  • HR and training staff designing internal AI literacy programmes

What it lets you do

  • The syllabus goes beyond the technical material to the Act on the Protection of Personal Information, the Copyright Act, the Patent Act, the Unfair Competition Prevention Act, the Antimonopoly Act, AI development outsourcing contracts and AI governance, so the legal questions raised by using AI are covered systematically.
  • JDLA's official page presents the certificate as a recommended AI qualification under Di-Lite, an initiative for which Japan's Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry acts as an observer.
  • You can choose between the online exam taken at home and the test-centre exam, and both count as the same certificate. In 2026 the online exam runs six times a year, so sittings come round often.
  • The exam works on a voucher system: a voucher is valid for one year from purchase, and you book the sitting you want within that period.
  • The online exam has discount schemes. A retake within two years of your previous sitting is half price (JPY 6,600 general), and holders of an AI For Everyone completion certificate get 30% off (JPY 9,240 general), among others.

The exam

As published by Japan Deep Learning Association (JDLA). Anything we could not confirm is left out. Check the official page before you apply.

Questions
Approximately 145 questions (the same for the online and test-centre formats)
Time
100 minutes for the online exam, 120 minutes for the test-centre exam
Pass mark
Not published by the exam body. JDLA states in its official FAQ that it does not disclose the passing line or scores.
Fee
JPY 13,200 (tax included) general, JPY 5,500 (tax included) students. The online exam has discount schemes such as half price for retakes; the test-centre exam has no discount schemes.
Format
Multiple-choice knowledge questions. Offered online (taken at home) and at test centres, with both treated as the same certificate.
Languages
Japanese only (JDLA's official FAQ states that the exam cannot be taken in English)
When it runs
In 2026 the online exam is held six times a year and the test-centre exam three times a year. For example, the fifth sitting of 2026 is online on Saturday, September 5 and at test centres from Friday, September 4 to Sunday, September 6.
Validity and renewal
No statement about an expiry date or renewal requirement for the certificate could be found on JDLA's official pages. The exam voucher itself is valid for one year from purchase and cannot be extended.

How hard it is

JDLA does not disclose the passing line or candidates' scores. Results are published for each sitting: for the fourth sitting of 2026, 9,241 people sat the exam and 7,677 passed, a pass rate of 83.08%. Cumulative figures are 219,761 candidates and 156,562 passers (published by JDLA).

How long people study

Not published by the exam body. JDLA does not state a standard amount of study time. It publishes pages on study methods and exam preparation, but no guideline number of hours.

Syllabus

  • [Technical] What artificial intelligence is (the definition of AI, the problems debated in the field)
  • [Technical] Trends in artificial intelligence (search and reasoning, knowledge representation and expert systems, machine learning, deep learning)
  • [Technical] Machine learning (overview, supervised learning, unsupervised learning, reinforcement learning, model selection and evaluation)
  • [Technical] Deep learning (overview, neural networks, activation functions, loss functions, regularisation, backpropagation, optimisation methods)
  • [Technical] Deep learning building blocks (fully connected layers, convolutional layers, normalisation layers, pooling layers, skip connections, recurrent layers, attention, autoencoders, data augmentation)
  • [Technical] Applications of deep learning (image recognition, natural language processing, speech processing, deep reinforcement learning, data generation, transfer learning and fine-tuning, multimodal models, model interpretability, model compression)
  • [Technical] Putting AI into practice (how to run an AI project; collecting, processing, analysing and training on data)
  • [Technical] The mathematics and statistics needed for AI
  • [Law and ethics] Law and contracts relating to AI (Act on the Protection of Personal Information, Copyright Act, Patent Act, Unfair Competition Prevention Act, Antimonopoly Act, AI development outsourcing contracts, AI service provision contracts)
  • [Law and ethics] AI ethics and AI governance (domestic and international guidelines, privacy, fairness, safety and security, misuse, transparency, democracy, environmental protection, labour policy, other important values, AI governance)

Our apps and books for this exam

  • G-Kentei Goukaku Drill

    Japanese only

    JDLA Deep Learning for GENERAL (G-Kentei) exam drills

    This app's interface and questions are in Japanese.

    Download on the App Store

Questions people ask

What proportion do I need to pass?
It is not published. JDLA states in its official FAQ that it does not disclose the passing line or scores, and candidates are not told their own score either. Any figure of the form "you need X percent" is an unofficial estimate.
Is the online exam or the test-centre exam the better option?
They lead to the same certificate; the difference is whether you sit at home or at a venue. The time limits differ, though: 100 minutes online and 120 minutes at a test centre. Both have about 145 questions. You cannot switch between them after applying, and because they run on separate systems you need to register an account for each.
Has the number of questions changed?
Yes. JDLA changed the number of questions from the G2024#6 sitting onwards, where it had previously been around 200, and the current official figure is approximately 145. Older question books and pass reports may assume the old number.
Are there discounts?
For the online exam, yes. A retake within two years of your previous sitting is half price (JPY 6,600 general, JPY 2,750 students); an AI For Everyone completion certificate gives 30% off (JPY 9,240 general, JPY 3,850 students); and coupons are issued to people at JDLA regular and supporting member companies. The test-centre exam has no discount schemes.
Once I buy a voucher, can I sit the exam whenever I like?
Only at a sitting you book within its validity period. A voucher is valid for one year from purchase, cannot be extended, and is good for one use. If you do not apply within that period it lapses and is not refunded. You can cancel a booked exam date up to 11:59:59 p.m. two days before the exam, and a cancelled voucher can be reused within its validity period.

Sources

These are the pages the figures came from. Some are published in Japanese only, and are marked as such — we keep the original titles rather than translating them, so you can match what you find on the official site. Exam rules change; check the official page before you apply.

Our security policy, terms of use and privacy policy are published in Japanese.